Tobacco Roots picture

 

2017 Stratigraphic Paleobiology Field Course

Schedule

Sunday, 9 July: Fly to Bozeman, Montana, then drive at Judson Mead field station

Monday, 10 July: Beds and bedsets in Mississippian Madison Group carbonates, Milligan Canyon

Tuesday, 11 July: Parasequences in Mississippian Madison Group carbonates, Milligan Canyon

Wednesday, 12 July: Parasequence sets, systems tracts, and sequences in Mississippian Madison Group carbonates, Milligan Canyon

Thursday, 13 July: Faunal counts in Mississippian Madison Group carbonates, Milligan Canyon

Friday, 14 July: Methods in data analysis: R and cluster analysis

Saturday, 15 July: Methods in data analysis: ordination and niche modeling

Sunday, 16 July: Day off

Monday, 17 July: Extending the section: Fammenian strata at Milligan Canyon and Doherty Mountain

Tuesday, 18 July: Extending the section: Frasnian–Fammenian strata at Sappington East

Wednesday, 19 July: Stratigraphy of mass extinction: Sappington East

Thursday, 20 July: Introduction to terrestrial systems: Eocene Renova Formation at Pipestone Springs

Friday, 21 July: Drive to Missouri Breaks, overview of Cretaceous Judith River Formation with Ray Rogers and Kristi Curry Rogers

Saturday, 22 July: Fossil concentrations (leaves, bones, and shells) in the Judith River Formation

Sunday, 23 July: Return to Bozeman, visit Museum of the Rockies

Monday, 24 July: Fly home